2 Kinds Of Morality Create 2 Kinds Of Understanding:
Sane & Insane
From 'Role Of Morality' by P Atkinson (13-Aug-23)

Two Kinds Of Morality Supply Two Kinds Of Understanding
Morality is the essence of understanding and thus life, but there are two kinds of morality, selfish and unselfish, and these obtain two different understandings:

An Unselfish Understanding Is Sane
An Unselfish understanding worships "Us", which is society and its traditions so supplying a common and clear understanding of what is right and what is wrong, free from the prejudice of private desires, which is Sanity. This in turn allows:

A Selfish Understanding Is Insane
A selfish understanding worships only "Me", which makes it a slave of its feelings where right is what private feelings desire and wrong is what private feelings dislike. As feelings change with mood and circumstances, so must judgement, which can never be predictable nor rational, which is insanity. Hence:

Insanity: is the inability to recognize right from wrong independently of private feelings, which obtains:

The Sanity Test
As the insane have no way of judging right from wrong except by their feelings, a simple test of sanity is the question:

How do you recognise right from wrong independently of your feelings?

Unless the truthful answer is tradition, which is the teachings of the church, then insanity is demonstrated.

Sanity gives a clear meaning to life and wins wealth through knowledge, but it forces its devotees into a constant struggle to control their emotions as they suppress appetites that conflict with tradition. Whereas Insanity imposes only the restraints of convenience on behaviour, otherwise licensing every animal urge, but it cannot supply any long-term meaning to life and incurs poverty through delusion.